How Long After a Slip and Fall Can You Sue in CT?

Posted On January 27, 2023 Premises Liability,Slip and Fall Accidents
man lying on the ground extending his hand outward after a slip and fall

A Connecticut slip and fall attorney can help if you were injured in a fall on someone else’s property. One of the most important considerations is how long you have to make a claim.

Connecticut law only allows a limited time to pursue compensation after a slip and fall accident. The Flood Law Firm can review your case and take steps to ensure that your legal rights are protected.

For a FREE consultation, call The Flood Law Firm at (860) 346-2695 today. Our Connecticut slip and fall attorneys serve clients statewide from offices in Middletown, Waterbury, Danbury, and Bridgeport.

What Is the Statute of Limitations for Slip and Fall Claims?

The statute of limitations is the time limit imposed on a particular type of legal action. Generally, slip and fall cases are handled on the basis of personal injury. In Connecticut, the statute of limitations for personal injury claims is 2 years.

As a rule, the clock starts to run on the date the injury occurs (i.e., the date of the slip and fall accident). However, Connecticut General Statutes §52-584 allows additional time to make a claim if an injury is not “discovered or in the exercise of reasonable care should have been discovered” before the statute of limitations expires. This is known as the discovery rule, and it allows claimants a maximum of 3 years from the date of the injury to file a lawsuit.

You should not rely on being allowed extra time to make a slip and fall claim. The circumstances under which the courts will grant an extension under the discovery rule are extremely narrow. As such, you should consult a Connecticut slip and fall attorney promptly.

What If a Loved One Dies in a Fall?

Slips, trips, and falls are among the leading causes of accidental death. Anyone can die in a fall. If you lose someone in a slip and fall accident caused by the negligence of a property owner or occupier, you may be entitled to compensation by way of a wrongful death claim.

As with personal injury claims, the statute of limitations for wrongful death in Connecticut is 2 years. The limitation period begins on the date of the victim’s death. If the injuries lead to death at a later date, a wrongful death claim can be brought no more than 5 years after the accident (see Connecticut General Statutes § 52-555).

Fatal falls are devastating events. A Connecticut wrongful death attorney can investigate conditions on the premises and gather evidence of negligence or wrongdoing.

Slip and Falls in the Workplace

According to the latest data from the National Safety Council, more than 211,000 workers were injured and 805 were killed in job-related falls in 2020. Many of these incidents involved falls at the same level as a result of slipping, tripping, etc.

Workers’ Compensation Deadlines

If you were injured in a slip and fall at work, you are likely entitled to workers’ compensation benefits. Workers’ comp claims are entirely distinct from personal injury actions.

Read More: Workers’ Compensation vs. Personal Injury

One of the biggest differences between the two types of cases is the time limit for making a claim. Workers’ compensation claims must be filed no more than 1 year after a workplace injury or accident. Employees also have an obligation to notify their employer of a work-related injury as soon as possible to establish their right to benefits.

Deadline for Third-Party Claims

Many workers are unaware that they may be entitled to workers’ comp benefits as well as compensation for personal injury. Although employers in Connecticut who carry workers’ compensation insurance are generally immune from being sued by injured employees, third parties do not enjoy this same protection.

A slip and fall accident on the job needs to be investigated promptly to determine if the negligence of a third party was a factor. Individuals and companies (such as contractors and subcontractors, the manufacturers of defective products, the owner of the premises, etc.) can be held liable for your injuries and damages.

Third-party work injury claims involving falls and other accidents are subject to the same statute of limitations as other types of personal injury cases. Generally you will need to file suit against the liable party or parties no more than 2 years after the accident. The same 2-year limitation applies if a worker dies in a fall caused by third-party negligence.

Speak to a Connecticut Slip and Fall Attorney Today

The Flood Law Firm has extensive experience representing the victims of slip and falls throughout Connecticut. We recognize the challenges of proving that dangerous conditions on the property caused you or your loved one harm.

Our attorneys have a reputation for obtaining results. Insurance companies know this about The Flood Law Firm, and our reputation often enables us to negotiate higher settlements for our clients. We also have extensive trial experience. Should your case go to trial, our lawyers will be able to represent you effectively.

The Flood Law Firm is also committed to representing workers who have third-party claims after an injury on the job. Construction workers and employees in other injuries are at serious risk of injury and even death in the event of a fall. Our team can help you get the workers’ compensation benefits you deserve, as well as collect the necessary evidence to make a claim against one or more negligent third parties.

Contact The Flood Law Firm today for a free consultation.

Request A Free Consultation

fill out the form below and get help today

  • *field required
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.