Car Accident Claims

Posted On February 23, 2016 Uncategorized

Well, it finally happened: the dreaded car accident. No matter the details of who hit whom or how severe the damage, getting into any kind of accident is scary. Even a minor collision can leave you in significant pain, causing you to miss out on the things you like to do – like going for a run or even driving your car. If the injuries are severe, they can alter everything about life as you know it. Fortunately, the law is on your side to protect you in these regrettable situations.


Thanks to Connecticut’s mandatory insurance laws, you can be compensated for damages to your health and car after an accident.

Steps After an Auto Accident

Hopefully you’ve taken all the right steps immediately after the incident by pulling over to the side of the road (if you can safely do so), and reporting any injuries to the police and emergency respondents. You’ve exchanged information with the other party at the scene. You’ve snapped photos of the accident and property damage to the vehicles.

Now you have the details of the accident fresh in your mind, maybe you’ve even got them written down and are ready for your next step – contacting the insurance company.

You might feel nervous about reporting the accident to your insurance carrier, but you don’t need to be. This guide will help you better understand the reporting process, as well as identify when you may need extra guidance in dealing with insurance companies and the other party.

Besides the pain you are enduring and the work you may have missed, our lawyers can help ensure you receive proper medical care and take the weight of phone calls and questions off your shoulders so you can focus on your recovery.

Contacting Your Insurance To Report a Car Accident in Connecticut

Before you call insurance, be sure to have the following information ready:

  1. Your policy information
  2. Date and time of the accident
  3. Description of what happened
  4. Name, address and phone number of any witnesses
  5. Driver’s name and insurance information
  6. Damages your vehicle sustained
  7. Injuries to yourself or passengers
  8. The police report

Be sure to follow the car accident claim do’s & dont’s when dealing with insurance.

Insurance agents are trained to convince the injured to accept the lowest settlement amount possible

How to Get a Police Report

The police report is probably your most valuable tool in establishing fault in an accident. Typically, police are only called to the scene when someone has been injured. If they haven’t been called, you can always file one yourself at your local police station. The fee for your police report may vary depending on where you live. In Middletown, for example, you can request a copy at the rate of $1.00 per page and $0.50 per additional page through the Middletown Police Records Bureau.

When Do I Have to Report an Accident to Insurance?

woman calling insurance after accidentWhen a driver, passenger, or pedestrian has been injured, the accident must be reported to the insurance company. The same is true if the total property damage exceeds $500. However, there are some situations where you may not need to report your accident to insurance.

Paying for Damages Out Of Pocket

What if you back your car into a big metal waste-bin and wind up denting your trunk? The only car involved in the accident is your own, and the damages amount to around $500. By simply paying for the damages out-of-pocket and not reporting the incident to insurance, you may save yourself an unwelcome insurance rate hike.

Car Accident Claim Do’s & Dont’s

We can’t stress enough that any time someone is injured as a result of a car accident immediate medical attention should be sought. Not doing so could compromise your health and reflect poorly on you, as an insurance carrier is likely to see this as failure to cooperate. In addition, delaying to report injury can make it harder to prove that injuries were related to the accident, and could mean you will have a more difficult time recovering the compensation you are entitled to.

Important Steps to Help Your Car Accident Claim

  • Take photos of the scene of the accident
  • Take photos of the vehicle damage
  • Take photos of your injuries
  • Keep track of all work you missed due to injury
  • Review your auto insurance policy so you know exactly what is covered
  • Discuss the details of the accident with the police

Steps To Avoid When Filing a Car Accident Claim

  • Don’t admit to fault at the scene of the accident
  • Don’t discuss the details of your accident with anyone other than the police and your insurer
  • Don’t agree to sign a medical waiver without a written promise that you will receive copies of every document
  • Don’t throw away damaged auto parts, bloody clothing, or anything that could be used as evidence
  • Don’t agree to a settlement without having an attorney review the offer

People often think they can negotiate with insurance companies on their own, but insurance agents are trained to convince the injured to accept the lowest settlement amount possible. Insurance companies often put their company’s profit above the needs of the victim. They employ their own team of lawyers to help them unearth everything they can to persuade claimants from pursuing their full legal rights.

What Can 45 Years of Combined Experience in Auto Accident Law Do?

For decades, The Flood Law Firm has helped car accident victims recover their health and financial well-being after an accident. We have helped hundreds of people who have been in your situation, and we do so quickly and confidentially.

We understand the pain, worry, and frustration you’re facing. We’re here to take the stress of legal matters off your shoulders. If we do not win your case, you owe us nothing. Contact us today for a free case evaluation by filling out the form on this site or calling us at (860) 346-2695.

Request A Free Consultation

fill out the form below and get help today

  • *field required
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.